top of page




Format & Current Race Calendar

The fell championship is open to all 1st and 2nd claim members who register to run as Sinfin on the day and who wear a club vest or training top during the race.  Social members are of course very welcome to take part but will not accrue championship points.


The system rewards both performance and commitment, whilst taking into account; age, gender, race difficulty and the number of races completed, giving everyone a chance to do well.  Designating the races each year encourages members to attend the events together, creating cameraderie, improving car-sharing and giving Sinfin a visible presence on the Derbyshire fell scene. 

Runners are competing for the 'Graham Young Trophy', introduced in 2022, which is handed out to each year's overall winner at the club's annual awards night.  The trophy acknowledges Graham as the pioneer of the club's fell running tradition.  The top stone is from the Middle Peak Quarry in Wirksworth, White Peak, while the plinth was hand-made by Duncan at Dual Design in Derby.  In addition, the best placed runner of the opposite sex will receive the Sinfin Fell Shield.  Awards are also given out for 2nd and 3rd place for both men and ladies, while other notable acheivements, including any member who reaches the 10-race milestone for the year, are announced. A list of previous champions can be found on our Hall of Fame page here.


  • championship runs January to December

  • 10-best results from 26 specified races (diary below)

  • commitment bonus points available for taking part in up to 6 additional races outside of your 10-best

  • all members start with the same points total, race points are deducted from this total, lowest points at the end of the year wins

Details of the races in the current year’s calendar (which is published in the first week of January each year), including; date, location and difficulty are as follows.  Please note this is only a guide, always check the lastest race information online:

Fell champs calendar 13-Mar-24.png

Latest race calendar notes: Bluebell 1 cancelled, replaced with Bonsall.  Riber Run and Brassington dates TBC but expected to be accurate.

Entry Method Legend: EODO = Entry on the day only.  PEO = Pre-entry only.  PRO = Pre-registration only (payment on the day)

Points totals move very quickly during a runner’s first 10 races and then stay comparatively static.  So if you are behind and have done less than 10, don’t worry you still have a chance to close the gap!

Full details on how the championship works is available.  Please ask Trevor, or any one of the club representatives.

2023 Fell Championship Final Positions

The 2023 season was record breaking in many respects: Nearly 400 fell champs race finishes, by 57 different members, at an average turnout of 15 members per race across all 26 races.  Also, what we believe to be an all-time club record turnout for any single event, when 30 of us ran in the Dovedale Dash, with Sinfin called out by the organisers as being the biggest on the day. Meanwhile, 19 members completed their 10-race milestone with 10 of those going on to complete their 'Big16', which is a fantastic endorsement of the club's fell racing format.  The calendar took us around the county from as close as Belper to as far as Old Glossop in order to race at Shelf Moor and thus take part in an English Fell championship counter.  A hearty congratulations to all and we can only hope that 2024 delivers the same enjoyment and cameraderie.

Final positions and award winners for 2023 were announced at the annual awards evening on 20-Jan 2024 and the top 25 appear below:

If you are interested in taking a closer look at how last year’s champs unfolded, or want to look in more detail at other results, or this year’s calendar, please email Trevor for the latest copy of the championship spreadsheet:

Previous Fell Championship Results

2022 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2022

2021 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2021

2020 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2020

2019 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2019

2018 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2018

2017 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2017

2016 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2016

2015 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2015

2014 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2014

2013 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2013

2012 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2012

2011 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2011

2011 OGs Summary: Fell Running summary 2011

2010 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2010

2009 Season Results: Fell Running Champs 2009

bottom of page